top of page

Some reflections on productivity

Dear readers,

I have reduced the frequency of my posts, and I must admit that I felt the need of increasing the amount of my written production.

Who follows “Not your typical news” radio shows and the site may know that I am very passionate about this little cute creature of mine. Maybe some of you remember my Facebook streamings during the lockdown.


Those live shows came to an end a few months ago, and after a short break, I decided it's time to give a new turn to this project!

This temporary pause from the posts is due to brand new ideas that are going to be announced very soon (to know more, please read the Upcoming projects section).

That could be all for today. However, that's not! Today, despite the grey and rainy afternoon and the sudden transition from summer to autumn, I felt a glimpse of inspiration and I wanted to share a reflection with you.

As I told you, I felt I had to increase the number of posts on this blog. I came to think that I was not producing enough material so my mind already portrayed the worst-case scenario.


The project would get stuck and I'd lose motivation, giving up eventually.

I'll have to start again from scratch.

But – in retrospect – the thing that I lowered my productivity is not true at all. In the last month I have written a deep and insightful post for one of my favourite blogs, crafted two articles that will be part of a wider range of writings of mine, and given a new shape to my ideas.


The most poignant resolution is that a new website will be launched soon.

But, why did this sensation of not doing enough come from?

For sure, from my being anxious and a constant overthinker. It's not hard to relate my anxiety to the amplification of my negative feelings. There's plenty of other reasons I could go on for a long while but my stream of consciousness may get boring.

I'd rather talk about some external factors that contributed to my uncomfortable feelings.

Produce as much as you can, gain visibility, get a name, earn money. I think that nowadays it's very likely to fall into the trap.

During my working career as a researcher, I was constantly encouraged to obtain new results, so that I could have published more scientific papers and this would have provided me with a bigger visibility. The more you publish, the more you are likely to get connections. That makes sense, after all.

I came to the conclusion that this hectic race would have eventually led me to frustration and burn-out, so I decided to break free from the trap, as much as I could.

I was aiming at careers that fostered the quality of the outcomes, instead of the quantity. I found a good job that gave me a balance and my stress levels noticeably decreased. I am not a lazy couch potato now, but I definitely take things easier and don't rush to the goal.

Some jobs point to quantity, instead of quality, and every moment of rest is seen as an unnecessary break that will leave us behind from the world out there. And we forget about the world inside of us.

Remember to take care of your inner balance and well being! During your working hours, if you can, take a break and do some stretching. Eat healthy food as your mind and body are at their top when they're fed with love and care. I could really feel a huge difference in my work, depending on what I had eaten for lunch – rice and vegetables always helped me, while junk food and sugars were decreasing my concentration peak.

And if your job requires physical work, well, take a break too! I remember when I was doing some works in a previous flat I was living in. It was kinda hard physical work for me, and I used to take short and frequent breaks to make sure my body would feel good. I used to listen to some music, wash my face, or also let the mind wander around and distract for a while.


After realizing the causes that provoked my uncomfortable feelings and made me think that my productivity is low, I needed to implement some good practices.


Here's some of the things that help me to get my inspiration back:


Turn off my devices.


Whatever you use to work and collect ideas, leave it for a while. It could be a notebook, a laptop, or your canvas.


Shut off your devices, and forget about that task you have been struggling with. Call a friend, do some workout, listen to some inspiring music, or read a book.


Don't focus on the problem but do something totally different: unexpectedly, you may find the answer you were looking for!


Reward myself.


In a world that pulls us to overproduction, it is important to realize when it's time to stop. Back to the previous example of the renovation works at the flat, it took me more than one month to finish my work, and at the same time I was preparing some tests at the University.


Instead of stressing out, I used to reward myself for the little progress I had experimented everyday.

And, surprisingly, the test went better than when I was studying eight hours per day. Less work, but more focused: that was the key.

When we feel we have done enough, we deserve some rest. We need to recognize when we achieve a little success in our daily working routine and honour ourselves for the good job we have done.


Think about where you were one month ago – I am sure you have done at least one step further.


Don't be too harsh on yourself. Acknowledge your daily progress. Reward yourself with your favourite food, a long and warm, shower, a dinner out, or whatever makes you feel good.


Every little step towards your final creation must be celebrated. Don't make the mistake of focusing on the result, this will lead you to hurry up and you will miss the best part: the journey.

Don't look at others' progress. We are always competing with the world but you can't compare yours to others' path: the road is unique for each of us. It would be much cooler and kinder if we'd support each other on the journey, wouldn't it?


What about you, could you relate to some of the things listed before? Is there anything you do when you lack motivation?


Feel free to share your considerations, tips, suggestions.


Warm hugs,

Claudia

bottom of page